Home » NEWS » Red ‘Super Mario’ Switch OLED May Launch Soon

Red ‘Super Mario’ Switch OLED May Launch Soon

With a Super Mario Bros. Wonder Direct presentation announced for later this week, many (including us) are curious what new information it will reveal.

Reliable leaker billbil-kun (thanks, VGC) suggests that one announcement may be a Nintendo Switch – OLED Model – Mario Red Edition, which may launch before or alongside Super Mario Bros. Wonder.

The OLED Model will have red Joy-Con controllers and a red dock, but billbil-kun says no Mario-themed logos or iconography. The packaging might feature Super Mario Bros. Wonder imagery, but that’s it.

Its release date is unknown, but billbil-kun says “it will be released before October”. As a reminder, Super Mario Bros. Wonder releases on October 20, 2023, so this new console is unlikely to come with it.

The August 31st Direct presentation at 3pm BST / 7am PT / 10am ET / 12am AET may reveal whether this leak is real.

About Jacob Chambers

Old-school gamer with a cheeky tongue that gets me in trouble. When I'm not playing games, I'm writing about them, preferably in the vicinity of a fridge! Oh, and if you're a Justin Bieber fan, I'm afraid we can't be friends!

Check Also

Even after 19 years, Mario Kart DS speedrunners are still finding new ways to beat the game

It’s been 19 years since the first Mario Kart DS race. That’s an incredibly long ...